A member of the George W. Bush administration endorsed Hillary Clinton for president this week, adding the growing list of Republicans who've come out in support of the Democratic candidate.

"I have disagreed with and criticized Hillary Clinton's positions, but I have come to the conclusion that she would be a far better president than the Republican candidate could ever be," former U.S. treasurer Rosario Marin said in an op-ed this week.

She added in her article, which was published by Univision, that she was "proud to vote for Ronald Reagan's election."

But Trump is no Reagan.

"I have voiced my disgust and have warned one and all of the perilous threat he was to our party, our nation and the world," Marin wrote.

Unlike the GOP nominee, Clinton gets it, she said.

"Clinton understands that words spoken from the White House have consequences, that sarcasm is not a strategy when dealing with delicate world situations, that our friends and foes listen to every word spoken by our president and react accordingly," she said.

"My party and its standard bearer leave me no choice; On Nov. 8, I will vote for Hillary Clinton," she added.

By throwing in with the Democratic candidate, Marin joins the ranks of more than 60 current and former Republican lawmakers and staffers from previous GOP administrations and presidential campaigns who've either endorsed the former secretary or said they would support her before voting for the real estate tycoon.

Here are the Republicans and GOP operatives, as compiled by the Washington Examiner, the Washington Post, Clinton's campaign team and publicly available sources:


  • Arne Carlson, Minnesota (1991–1999)
  • William Milliken, Michigan (1969–1983)


  • Gordon Humphrey, New Hampshire (1979–1990)
  • David Durenberger, Minnesota (1978–1995)
  • Larry Pressler, South Dakota (1979–1997)

U.S. Reps:

  • Richard L. Hanna, New York
  • Chris Shays, Connecticut (1987–2009)
  • Connie Morella, Maryland (1987–2003)

Former State Legislators:

  • Rep. Betty Tamposi, Assembly Majority Leader, New Hampshire (1979–1986)
  • Rep. Lois Sherman Hagarty, Pennsylvania (1980–1992)
  • Rep. David Irvine, Utah, retired brigadier general

Members of State Judiciaries:

  • Charles Fried, Associate Justice: Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court (1995–1999)
  • Robert Smith, Associate Judge: New York Court of Appeals (2004–2014)

Environmental Protection Agency:

  • William Reilly, Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (1989–1993)
  • Alan Steinberg, regional Environmental Protection Agency administrator (under bush)
  • William Ruckelshaus, Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (1970–1973; 1983–1985)

U.S. Department of Commerce:

  • Frank Lavin, Under Secretary for International Trade (2005–2007)
  • Carlos Gutierrez, U.S. Secretary of Commerce (2005–2009)
  • Carla Hills, U.S. Trade Representative (1989–1993)

Department of Defense:

  • Matthew Waxman, Dep. Ass. Sec. for Detainee Affairs (2004–2005)


  • Fred T. Goldberg Jr., Chief Counsel for the Internal Revenue Service (1984-1968)

State Department:

  • Richard Armitage, Deputy Secretary (2001–2005)
  • R. Nicholas Burns, Under Secretary for Political Affairs (2005–2008
  • Eliot Cohe, Counselor (2007–2009)
  • James Glassman, Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs (2008–2009)
  • David Gordon, Director of Policy Planning (2007–2009)
  • Stephen Krasner, Director of Policy Planning (2005–2007)
  • Kori Schake, Dep. Director of Policy Planning (2007–2008)
  • David A. Gross, Coordinator for International Communications and Information Policy (2001—2009)

Staffers from Past GOP Administrations and Presidential Campaigns:

  • Doug Elmets, former spokesman for Ronald Reagan
  • Jim Cicconi, former aide to Presidents Reagan and George H.W. Bush
  • Pete Teeley, press secretary to then-Vice President George H.W. Bush and former U.S. ambassador to Canada (1992-1993)
  • David Nierenberg, finance chairman to Mitt Romney's 2012 campaign
  • Mark Salter, former adviser to Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz.
  • Sally Bradshaw, former adviser to former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush
  • Maria Comella, former spokeswoman for New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie and former New York City Mayor Rudy Giuliani
  • Kurt Bardella, former aide to Rep. Darrel Issa, R-Calif., and ex-Breitbart spokesman
  • Mike Treiser, former aide to 2012 presidential candidate and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney
  • Craig Snyder, former chief of staff to then-Republican Sen. Arlen Specter of Pennsylvania


  • Rosario Marin, Treasurer (2001–2003)
  • Henry Paulson, U.S. Secretary of the Treasury (2006–2009)

Independent Commissions:

  • Kenneth Adelman, Director of the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency (1983–1987)


  • Robert Blackwill, India (2001–2003)
  • David Gross, International Communications and Information Policy (2001–2009)
  • Peter Teeley, Canada (1992–1993)
  • Shirin Tahir-Kheli, Democracy, Human Rights, and International Operations (2003–2005)
  • Robert Tuttle, United Kingdom (2005–2009)
  • Richard Holwill, Ambassador to Ecuador (1988-1989)

U.S. Attorneys:

  • Dan K. Webb, N.D. Ill. (1981–1985)

U.S. Military and Intel Services:

  • Michael Donley, Secretary of the U.S. Air Force (2008–2013)
  • Florent Groberg, ret. United States Army Captain
  • Peter Mansoor, ret. U.S. Army Colonel
  • Alberto Mora, General Counsel of the Navy (2001–2006)
  • John Negroponte, 1st Director of National Intelligence (2005-2007)
  • Gale Pollock, ret. 2-star U.S. Army General

White House Staff:

  • James Cicconi, Staff Secretary (1989–1990)
  • Scott Evertz, Director: Office of National AIDS Policy (2001–2003)
  • Tony Fratto, Deputy Press Sec. (2006–2009)
  • Brent Scowcroft, National Security Advisor (1975–77; 1989–1993)
  • Lezlee Westine, director: Office of Public Liaison (2001–2005)


  • Daniel Akerson, former General Motors CEO
  • Marc Andreessen, Netscape co-founder
  • Hamid Moghadam, CEO Prologis
  • James Murren, CEO MGM Resorts International
  • William Oberndorf, hedge fund manager
  • Mike Fernandez, founder MBF Healthcare Partners
  • Chuck Robbins, CEO Cisco Systems
  • Harry Sloan, CEO Global Eagle Acquisition
  • Meg Whitman, 2010 California gubernatorial nominee, CEO Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Foreign Policy Scholars:

  • Max Boot, senior fellow: Council on Foreign Relations
  • Robert Kagan, co-founder: Project for the New American Century
  • Tom Nichols, foreign policy scholar

National Security:

  • Gabriel Schoenfeld, senior fellow at the Hudson Institute, specializing in national security and intelligence