The new year brings new hope to several prominent PGA Tour players who struggled in 2010. But those who went without a victory last year, most notably Tiger Woods, will have to wait another week to begin their seasons.

The first event this year, the Tournament of Champions, is limited to last year's winners. The event, which begins Thursday at dreamy Kapalua on the island of Maui, is eye-candy for shut-in golfers.

But the course will have to serve as the star this week. In addition to Woods, some of the others among the missing are 2010 non-winners Stewart Cink, Padraig Harrington, J.B. Holmes and Sergio Garcia. The only 2010 major winner in the field is Graeme McDowell. New No. 1 Lee Westwood declined to make the trip, as did No. 3 Martin Kaymer.